Awards Selection Process

Nominees for the Audio Description Awards Gala and the Audio Description People’s Choice Award are selected through discussions by a panel of leaders in the audio description community. The awards committee includes consumers of audio description programming and several professionals in audio description who are blind as well, with six of the ten Audio Description Gala Awards Committee members being consumers of audio description. The awards are focused on honoring the achievements of media industry in promoting audio description: the producers of broadcast television, streaming services, film releases, and DVDs. 

Moving forward in 2023, a more broad-based nomination process will be developed earlier in the year to allow for nominations from the public and field at large.  

2022 Audio Description Gala Awards Committee

  • Joel Snyder, PhD, Chair, MD
  • Matt Ater, VA
  • Renee Arrington Johnson, OH
  • Jo Lynn Bailey-Page, CA
  • Maria Victoria Diaz, FL
  • Karen Keninger, IA
  • Carl Richardson, MA
  • Wendy Sapp, GA
  • Chris Snyder, AZ
  • Jeff Thom, CA

The 2022 Audio Description Awards Gala winners will be announced on November 29 at 7:30 PM ET. Stay up to date on information about the event on our website,